€4,900 Main Event

Italian Poker Tour Sanremo Main Event Down to the Final Nine

• Nível 1: 50-100, 0 ante
Marcello Miniucchi is the current chip leader in the €770 IPT Sanremo Main Event. Picture courtesy of PokerStars.

Prior to the EPT10 Sanremo Main Event, the Italian Poker Tour (IPT) kicked off their €700 buy-in Main Event, which attracted 1,124 players and created a prize pool of €763,196. That was to be distributed to the top 167 players, with €137,100 reserved for the eventual winner. That tournament is now down to the unofficial final table of nine.

Among those who cashed were Tam Truong (166th - €1,220), Max Pescatori (160th - €1,220), Sergio Aido (158th - €1,220), Marcin Horecki (150th - €1,220), Alex Kravchenko (135th - €1,345), Casey Kastle (129th - €1,345), Vitaly Lunkin (107th - €1,500), and Alessandro Basile (78th - €1,660), Andrea Dato (59th - €1,980), Kitty Kuo (34th - €2,800), Ben Yu (27th - €3,815), Pratik Ghatge (22nd - €4,550), and Franco Berlingieri (10th - €8,480).

UKIPT Marbella champion Ludovic Geilich, who won the Super Tuesday last week for a career best online cash of $101,325 and was fourth at EPT London, narrowly missed the final, finishing 11th for €8,480.

Leading the final nine is Marcello Miniucchi. All the remaining players, who will be back today at 12:30 p.m., are guaranteed at least €13,000 but it's the IPT6 Sanremo trophy and €137,100 first prize they have in their sights.

In addition to Miniucchi, who was runner-up at the IPT Saint Vincent Main Event last month, some other notables remain including APPT Cebu champion Jae Kyung Sim, 2012 Swedish Champion Alexander Norden, and WPT Venice runner-up Alex Longobardi. Fellow finalist Niccolo Ceccarelli has already won an event here at the EPT Sanremo Poker Festival when he beat a 75-strong field to take down the €200 NL Turbo (Unlimited RB/AO) for €8,620.

Here's a look at the unofficial final table of nine:

SeatPlayerCountryChip Count
Seat 1Marcello MiniucchiItaly4,540,000
Seat 2Alessandro BorsaItaly820,000
Seat 3Fabio ScepiItaly2,750,000
Seat 4Nicolo CeccarelliItaly2,260,000
Seat 5Adel KabbaniFrance2,020,000
Seat 6Alessandro De FenzaItaly3,855,000
Seat 7Alex LongobardiItaly2,200,000
Seat 8Jae SimKorea1,980,000
Seat 9Alexander NordenSweden1,955,000

The IPT Main Event attracted 1,124 entries over three accumulator start days. There were 609 unique players with Italians accounting for more than half (51% with 308 players) that field. In total, players from 49 countries took part.