2021 World Series of Poker

Event #43: $1,000 Double Stack
Dias: 3

Wang Leads Final 17; Dokler, Park, and Platt Close Behind

Nível 31 : 125,000-250,000, 250,000 ante
Michael Wang
Michael Wang

Day 3 of Event #43: $1,000 Double Stack No-Limit Hold’em has concluded and after ten hour-long levels of play, the start of day field of 149 was whittled down to just 17 players, who are playing for the $446,983 first-place prize and a WSOP bracelet.

Leading the way by a large margin is bracelet winner Michael Wang, who bagged up 24,300,000 chips, nearly double that of second place. Wang spent the majority of the day nursing a short stack, but after some timely doubles and a clash with bigger stack Edwin Lee, Wang found himself well ahead of everyone else in the chip counts. The American pro’s biggest lifetime cash was his bracelet win in 2015 in the $5,000 No-Limit Hold’em for $466,120, and he will be looking to add a second piece of poker jewelry to his collection.

Wang is not the only bracelet winner left in the field. Bagging 13,325,000 chips was South Korean bracelet winner Sejin Park. Park is now enjoying his fifth cash of this year’s World Series Of Poker. Park’s bracelet came in 2019 when he took down the $400 No-Limit Hold'em-Colossus, beating a field of 13,109 entrants to win his career-best score of $451,272; he now sits in the top three chip stacks going into Day 4.

Jonathan Dokler is the other bracelet winner still in the field. Dokler took down the $500 Kick-Off 2020 WSOP Online for his first WSOP bracelet, and like the two players above, will be searching for his second. Dokler bagged 12,875,000 chips and is another player who battled on the short stack for a good portion of the day. Patience paid off as he is now one of the top five stacks.

Not all bracelet winners were so fortunate during the day. Martin Jacobson (145th - $3,124) and Tuan Le (140th - $3,557) departed from the tournament quite early. Other notable players fell by the wayside as the day progressed such as Jeremy Pekarek (132nd - $3,557), Rafaelle Sorrentino (89th - $4,716), Niall Farrell (88th - $4,716), Antoine Saout (57th - $7,600), and Ralph Massey (23rd - $15,856).

Second in chips to start the day Sylvain Naets was coolered when his pocket kings ran into pocket aces and his tournament ended in 97th place for $4,081.

The other start-of-the-day chip leader was PokerGO commentator Jeff Platt who was more fortunate and able to find a bag for 8,075,000 chips at the end of the day. While most know Platt for his role in PokerGO, Platt has amassed over $300K in lifetime earnings, including 14 WSOP cashes. Platt spent most of the day steadily building his chip stack and never really dipped out of the top five in chip counts. Platt comes back with 26 big blinds and will be going for his first WSOP bracelet.

Final Two Tables Seat Draw

TableSeatPlayerChip Count
Table 4141Matthew Raffoul6,900,000
Table 4142-empty 
Table 4143Gary Floyd2,750,000
Table 4144Dustin Goff7,350,000
Table 4145Sejin Park13,325,000
Table 4146Jeff Platt8,075,000
Table 4147Alex Kulev9,550,000
Table 4148Anthony Denove8,475,000
Table 4149Kenneth Inouye7,475,000
Table 4211Timothy Little11,475,000
Table 4212Alexander Farahi10,725,000
Table 4213David Guay3,800,000
Table 4214Joshua Harrison14,725,000
Table 4215Steven Stolzenfeld6,900,000
Table 4216Jonathan Dokler12,875,000
Table 4217Yin Wu4,600,000
Table 4218Michael Wang24,300,000
Table 4149Frank Lagodich6,300,000

Play is set to begin at 12 P.M. tomorrow, Tuesday, October 26th at The Rio All-Suite Hotel and Casino with blinds coming back at 150,000/300,000 with a 300,000 big blind ante. The intention is to play as many 60-minute levels as necessary to get down to five players. Then, the final five players will play out the final table on Wednesday, October 27th.

Stay tuned to PokerNews for all of the updates on all of the World Series Of Poker Events.

Tags: Alex KulevAlexander FarahiDavid GuayDustin GoffEdwin LeeFrank LagodichJeff PlattJeremy PekarekJonathan DoklerJoshua HarrisonKenneth InouyeMartin JacobsonMatthew RaffoulMichael WangNiall FarrellRalph MasseySejin ParkSteven StolzenfeldSylvain NaetsTuan Le